HAFM and HDAFM are two separately documented XMC mist-separator families. HAFM covers six body sizes with nominal ports from 1/4 to 3 inches; the reviewed HDAFM range covers sizes 30 and 40, with ports from 1/4 to 1/2 inch. Use those ranges to shortlist a model, then obtain comparable flow and treatment evidence for the actual duty. HAFM rated flow and HDAFM maximum processing capacity are differently described; the catalogue does not establish a direct capacity ranking or mechanical interchangeability.

Start with the two named mist-separator families

The 21 June 2025 catalogue places HAFM30 through HAFM930 on printed pages 32-33 and HDAFM30/40 on page 60. Both list 0.3 μm filter precision. [1, 2] That common number does not select a family or establish an outlet oil limit. This comparison helps a buyer who already needs to review a mist-separation stage choose which actual models to investigate. If the unresolved question is ordinary particle filtration versus mist treatment, use the separate function guide first.

Use the model-specific port table to form a shortlist

HAFM has the wider listed port range. In the reviewed HDAFM sheet, a 3/4-inch or larger model is not listed. For a project requiring one of those connections, investigate the corresponding HAFM entry and confirm the full operating requirement with XMC. Within the overlapping 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2-inch range, both families may have a candidate. A port match alone does not establish capacity, thread compatibility or a complete model. Read each model row rather than combining every body size with every code shown in an ordering diagram. [1, 2]

Catalogue model and nominal port entries; confirm the supplied thread and configuration
Family / bodyNominal ports, inchesCatalogue reference
HAFM301/4 or 3/8Printed page 32
HAFM403/8, 1/2 or 3/4Printed pages 32-33; the 3/4 drawing row is HAFM40-06
HAFM503/4 or 1Printed page 32
HAFM8001 1/4 or 1 1/2Printed page 32
HAFM9002Printed page 32
HAFM9303Printed page 32
HDAFM301/4 or 3/8Printed page 60
HDAFM403/8 or 1/2Printed page 60

Keep rated flow separate from maximum processing capacity

The HAFM table labels its flow row Rated Flow (L/min). The reviewed pages do not state the reference conditions for that row. The HDAFM table instead labels its row Maximum air processing capacity and supplies a note: inlet pressure 0.7 MPa, temperature 20 °C and atmospheric relative humidity 65%. It says that capacity varies with inlet pressure and warns of oil passing through the outlet if the maximum processing flow is exceeded. [1, 2] The table below retains the source wording. It is not a ranking of treatment performance.

Overlapping body-size references: conditions differ in the available documentation
Catalogue modelPrinted flow entryBasis to retain with the number
HAFM30Rated flow: 800 L/minReference conditions are not stated on the reviewed pages 32-33; obtain them before comparing.
HAFM40Rated flow: 2,000 L/minReference conditions are not stated on the reviewed pages 32-33; obtain them before comparing.
HDAFM30Maximum processing capacity: 450 L/minPage 60 note: 0.7 MPa inlet, 20 °C and 65% atmospheric relative humidity; capacity varies with inlet pressure.
HDAFM40Maximum processing capacity: 1,100 L/minSame page 60 conditions; exceeding maximum processing flow can allow oil to pass through.

Ask for the missing comparison basis before approving a substitution

If two quotations offer HAFM30 and HDAFM30, do not divide 800 by 450 and call the result a capacity advantage. Ask XMC to identify what each flow value measures, its air-volume reference state, inlet conditions and any pressure-drop or treatment criterion. Supply your measured or specified peak demand on its own stated basis, plus the lowest inlet pressure during operation. Request the corresponding model-specific review for that duty. Page 60 also has pressure-drop curves with an L/min (ANR) axis; that curve label does not establish the missing basis for the HAFM rated-flow row. [1, 2] This is a way to resolve two quotations, not a claim that either family performs better.

Check the temperature range and treatment evidence independently

The HAFM table lists an ambient and fluid temperature range of -5 to 60 °C; HDAFM lists 5 to 60 °C. Both list minimum working pressure 0.15 MPa and maximum working pressure 1.0 MPa. [1, 2] Carry the temperature range for the proposed family into the inquiry: an HAFM limit must not be transferred to HDAFM. Those ranges alone do not settle condensate behaviour, environmental suitability or the final installation. HAFM's 0.3 μm entry includes a catalogue capture-efficiency figure of 95%; the HDAFM sheet states 0.3 μm without that same figure. The reviewed sheets do not establish a common capture-test method, a comparative residual-oil result or a total-oil purity class. Keep the 95% statement confined to its HAFM source and request the evidence needed for the actual outlet-air requirement.

Confirm inlet treatment, drain and bowl as part of the model

HDAFM's working-medium row explicitly says initially filtered compressed air. The HAFM row says compressed air; it does not supply an equivalent detailed inlet-quality requirement. [1, 2] Include the existing upstream treatment and ask XMC to confirm the required inlet condition for the selected model. Do not use that shorter HAFM wording as permission to remove an upstream filter. HAFM's features identify differential-pressure and automatic drainage; both ordering diagrams show D for an automatic-drain option and separate cup/cover fields. The available fields differ between the families. Confirm option applicability, actual operating conditions, discharge arrangement, bowl material and service instructions against the supplier's complete code. A shared D or a similar clear bowl does not establish identical drain operation or chemical compatibility.

Use the drawing for the actual port and supplied configuration

Printed page 33 gives a distinct HAFM40-06 row for the 3/4-inch port, separate from the HAFM40 3/8-1/2-inch row. It also uses a lettered dimension table. HDAFM's page 60 contains its own drawings for sizes 30 and 40. [1, 2] Keep each drawing and its dimension definitions with the quotation; do not treat the shared size number 30 or 40 as a common mounting standard. Confirm port centres, mounting points, bracket and fasteners, bowl access and drain-tube space on the proposed layout. For HAFM800/900/930, the page 32 bracket row reads No, so obtain the actual mounting arrangement rather than assuming the small-body bracket is supplied.

Send a family-comparison record with the inquiry

Use one row for each proposed complete model. Attach the original page and quote revision to each confirmed value, and mark missing evidence as unresolved. The following worksheet is an editorial purchasing aid, not a product configurator or an approved substitution list. It lets the supplier answer which candidate meets your requirement without guessing that two different catalogue rows mean the same thing.

HAFM / HDAFM comparison record to complete with the supplier
DecisionEvidence to send or obtainClose the item when
Model shortlistRequired nominal port; full HAFM or HDAFM model and optionsThe exact model row and supplied interfaces are confirmed.
Flow at the dutyPeak demand, reference state, minimum operating inlet pressure; rating source and conditionsThe supplier has reviewed the actual duty on a comparable basis.
Treatment resultUpstream treatment and required outlet contamination limit or test specificationModel-specific performance evidence addresses the stated requirement.
Environment and drainageAir/ambient temperature, exposure, pressure cycle and drain routeThe selected bowl, drain and operating instructions fit the conditions.
InstallationActual configuration drawing, fitting details, mounting and service spaceThe complete arrangement and supplied hardware have been checked.

Catalogue references and scope

This comparison uses the HAFM and HDAFM pages in the 21 June 2025 XMC catalogue. It does not rename another family as HAFM or HDAFM, provide a replacement chart, or promise current stock. The port table narrows the documented candidates; the remaining checks determine whether a complete proposed model is suitable for the actual application.

Questions buyers ask.

Which family lists ports larger than 1/2 inch?

The reviewed HAFM table includes larger entries through 3 inches, with the port options tied to specific body sizes. The reviewed HDAFM sheet lists sizes 30 and 40 with ports up to 1/2 inch. Confirm the exact model and operating requirement.

Does HAFM30 have more usable treatment capacity than HDAFM30?

The reviewed pages do not establish that comparison. HAFM30 lists 800 L/min rated flow without the reference conditions on those pages; HDAFM30 lists 450 L/min maximum processing capacity with stated conditions. Obtain a common basis and model-specific treatment evidence before ranking them.

Does HDAFM have the HAFM catalogue's 95% capture efficiency?

Do not transfer that figure. It appears with HAFM's 0.3 μm entry. HDAFM's reviewed sheet states 0.3 μm without the same capture-efficiency figure; ask for the relevant performance evidence.

Can I replace HAFM40 with HDAFM40 because both offer a 1/2-inch port?

A shared nominal port and body-size number do not establish interchangeability. Review the exact threads, configuration, drawings, flow basis, operating conditions and treatment requirement before approving a change.

Can the HAFM temperature range be applied to HDAFM?

No. The reviewed HAFM sheet lists -5 to 60 °C; the HDAFM sheet lists 5 to 60 °C. Use the range for the proposed family and obtain confirmation for the actual environment and operating conditions.

Technical references
  • [1] XMC Huayi Pneumatic Catalogue, edition 21 June 2025, printed pages 32-33: HAFM30/40/50/800/900/930 ports, rated-flow row, pressure/temperature limits, 0.3 μm and 95% catalogue capture entry, ordering fields, bracket row and drawings. Original customer catalogue and public extract visually checked 29 October 2026. The rated-flow reference conditions are not supplied on these reviewed pages.
  • [2] XMC Huayi Pneumatic Catalogue, edition 21 June 2025, printed page 60: HDAFM30/40 ports, initially filtered inlet medium, 0.3 μm entry, pressure/temperature limits, maximum-processing note, ordering fields, drawings and flow curves. Original customer catalogue and public extract visually checked 29 October 2026. The comparison worksheet is editorial guidance, not manufacturer-approved equivalence.

Open the XMC product catalogue

Put the guide to work.

Choose the relevant XMC series, download its product PDF and include the application details with your inquiry.